Indo-european languages

The Indo-European languages are a large language family native to western Eurasia and spoken in areas of European settlement.

The languages can be split into the following branches: Celtic, Germanic, Indo-Iranian (consisting of Indo-Aryan, Iranian and Nuristani), Slavic, and the Italic (Romance) languages.

There are also language isolates (languages unrelated to any other) : Albanian, Armenian, Basque and Greek.

Celtic languages

Breton, Cornish, Manx, Welsh

Germanic languages

West Germanic

Afrikaans, Doric, Dutch, German, Luxembourgish

North Germanic

Danish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Indo-Iranian languages

The Indo-Iranian or Aryan languages consist of three groups: the Indo-Aryan or Indic languages, Iranian and Nuristani.

Italic languages

These include the Romance languages.

Catalan, Corsican, Dalmatian, French, Galician, Italian, Ladino, Latin, Portuguese - Portugal, Portuguese - Brazil, Provençal, Romanian, Sardinian, Spanish, Venetian.

Slavic languages

East Slavic

Belarusian, Russian, Ukrainian.

South Slavic

Bosnian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Serbian, Slovene.

West Slavic

Czech, Kashubian, Polish, Silesian, Slovak Sorbian.

Separate branch

The following languages are not closely related to any other existing Indo-European language (or each other).

Albanian, Armenian, Greek.